Jim Carrey – Inspiring Commencement Speech Maharishi University

What got me going?

During the summer of 2014, two things I would watch gave me the proverbial “kick in the pants” getting me going in the direction of finally following my dreams of becoming a storyteller and filmmaker.

The first, watching the film “Guardians of the Galaxy.” I vividly remember saying to myself as I watched the film “..this is what I need to be doing!” Shortly thereafter, I would watch a video of Jim Carrey giving a commencement speech to graduates of Maharishi University. In the speech, Mr. Carrey recounted a lesson he had learned through the life of his father and would offer up the priceless advice (0:43) …you can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love. Within a few days after hearing these life altering words, I was enrolled in the Digital Cinematography Bachelors of Science program at Full Sail University and in pursuit of my dreams.

I would highly recommend watching the entire commencement speech by following the link below:

Full Speech: Jim Carrey’s Commencement Address at the 2014 MUM Graduation

Leave a Reply

